Is it Spring (Décor) Yet?

This time of year is super boring. I got back from Mexico a couple weeks ago, my tan is faded and the Christmas frenzy has long since passed (I haven’t taken my Christmas décor down yet, isn’t that ridiculous?) I’m actually so embarrassed and just text my roommate to plan a date to do it. I took my wreaths down so at least my neighbours think I have my life together. But I don’t. I just feel extremely unmotivated this time of year. I mean I COULD spend an evening tearing down the winter wonderland that is my home, OR I could turn on the Christmas tree lights, drink a bottle of Cono Sur Viognier (so cheap, so good), and catch up on episodes of modern family. IF YOU DON’T THINK THE LATTER SOUNDS WAY BETTER NEVER COME BACK TO THIS BLOG.

In search of motivation I am doing a couple fun things to spice up the worst time of the year ever. I have started a run club at my office and I am taking French lessons. The goal of both is to be overall a little sexier come spring. A girl can dreamAnyway, another thing I am really excited about, that fortunately is contingent upon getting my ass in gear and taking the garland off my headboard, is spring decorating. I’m excited for the days to start getting longer, the sun to fill my apartment later and to bring a ton of fresh color into my décor.

In a recent post I talked about my affinity for gold. The love is alive and well. In fact I would say I have renewed my vow to gold as I cruise pinterest and see how beautifully it transitions from the warm reds and browns of winter to the bright purples, oranges and greens of spring. I’ve got some strong influences guiding me for the upcoming season; via my friend Whitney‘s influence, I am really loving fun art deco style / chinoiserie inspired prints and anything that feels like it would look perfect poolside in Palm Springs. This site has the most amazing prints, I want custom calling cards and address labels immediately and I am OBSESSED with the custom lucite trays. I’m also craving bright cushions in fun prints, which is a carry over from last year. Cushions are such an easy way to add a splash of colour and really change the look and feel of a room for only a few bucks. In a frugal DIY attempt I made my own cushion covers last year but the material wasn’t perfect. So I am on the hunt! Where do you shop for well priced cushions / cushion covers? 

inspo-board

 

Leave a Reply

