Juice Cleanse Part 2

A couple posts ago I talked about a juice cleanse I was embarking on, so I thought I would hit you with the results. First things first, I love food and trying to cut it out for 3 days was torture. Oh did you notice in my original post I said I was doing it for six days? I LIED. It actually wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be to be honest. The juices were delicious and I felt really light and fresh after the first day. I wouldn’t recommend doing a juice cleanse for more than three days if you aren’t an experienced cleanser, or if your coworkers are habitual McDonalds breakfast eaters. You will go into a blackout rage and threaten someone’s life for a bite of their hash brown.

THE EQUIPMENT:

I bought the Hamilton Beach 20oz Juice Extractor from London drugs for $89.99. I’m no expert, but I think it did a good job and it was easy to take apart and clean after. It is a pretty big appliance so unless you want it to live full time on your kitchen counter (I’m a minimalist in that sense so that’s a no go for me) then finding a cupboard to store it in can be a bit of a B.

THE SHOPPING LIST: 

juice cleanse shopping listI know this sounds like a crazy amount of produce but you would be surprised at how little juice comes out of an apple or even an orange. It was definitely a reality check to think I was casually crushing 20 oranges when I slam a glass of OJ on Sunday morning. What was even more shocking was the bill (IN A GOOD WAY) and that happens never, so this was a win. I picked up everything at a little produce market down the street for me, which is always way cheaper than the big chains, and the bill was about $35CAN. Not bad when you think that’s covering your consumption for three days.

THE RECIPIES:

I loosely followed the vitae juice revamp cleanse. Except I opted for a 2nd citrus instead of an almond drink. I went heavier on the veg, lighter on the fruit, and adjusted to taste. I don’t think there is a perfect formula to this, any fresh juice cleanse is going to be beneficial. Obviously you want more veg than fruit so there isn’t a TON of sugar causing you to crash during the day. #science

recipies

I made 6 juices for each day. I started each morning with hot water and lemon and then had one juice about every 2 hours starting at 9 and ending at 7 in the order listed. I also drank lots of water throughout the day. The constant sipping definitely helped edge off the hunger pains. Juice 3 was definitely my fav. Grapefruit, watermelon, lime and mint over ice? DELIGHTFUL. (This will be my summer vodka optional cocktail of choice. See how much I learned doing this?!?!?)

THE OUTCOME:

I felt good

I felt fresh

I lost 7 lbs

I craved fresh produce after

WHAT I LEARNED:

I did this right before Christmas so I didn’t expect for a second to keep off the weight I lost. MASHED POPTATOES AMIRIGHT? Although I think you easily could keep it off if you were diligent and didn’t swan dive into a box of wine and a wheel of brie (which is what I did – no regrets). Next time I do this I will go raw vegan 2 days before and 2 days after so my system eases in and out of the cleanse. This will also extend the benefits and help avoid the regaining of weight as I transition back in to my normal eating routine (KD and goldfish crackers. I’M MESSING WITH YOU.) I couldn’t work out. Maybe the first day I could have, but this was an experiment for me and I didn’t want to overdo it. So if sacrificing your gym sessions for three days is a big no no for you (freak) then I would advise adding a couple light raw meals throughout the day so there is a bit more sustenance there and you don’t pass out on the elliptical and embarrass yourself in front of your friends. The last thing is; next time I do this I will look up recipes for the pulp. There was a TON of waste and I felt guilty about it. I talked to a couple girlfriends who have since gotten into juicing as well and they said the same thing.

So that’s it that’s all. I will definitely do this again. I think it’s a great way to flush out your system and get your cravings in check! Do you juice? Cleanse? Have pulp recipes? Interested? Have questions? Lets taco bout it.

3 thoughts on “Juice Cleanse Part 2

  1. rendellh57 says:

    Wendy, I’ve enjoyed reading about your juice cleanse and glad to hear you had a good experience and that you learned what you would do next time to make it easier. I would love to do a juice cleanse.

    I’ve used three different juicing methods (at work) and the traditional juicers are my least favorite, lots of waste and it tends to contain a lot of juice. The slow crush juicers still have waste but they extract more juice and some have the option of using frozen fruit. Last but not least is the Vitamix which retains all of the pulp and pulverizes berry seeds, you can even leave the rinds on citrus and cores in apples and pears if you want.

Leave a Reply

