Spring Fresh Lemon Orzo Soup

I cannot believe this weather we are having here in Vancouver… Wendy always says ‘if you are living in Canada and you aren’t living in Vancouver you are insane’ and with these sunny February days we’ve been having I think she is right! It’s making me anxious for bikinis, mojitos and pink floaties, but until the temperature catches up with these sunny days, some good food will have to do!

This is one of my FAVORITE soups. I find it so fulfilling and refreshing. It is perfect as we transition into spring.

IMG_4378I don’t know what it is about soup, but I find such comfort in a nice big bowl after a long day. Not only is it a quick easy meal, it is such a crowd-pleaser.

First I started by boiling a pot of 6 cups of water with 5 tbsp of chicken broth paste. I use better than bouillon for my chicken broth paste – which I think is the best. Only because I always found when I would buy chicken broth I wouldn’t use it all at one time and it would go bad. This paste lasts forever and has reduced sodium and no fat as compared to other chicken broths, and is relatively cheap. win win!

While the broth is boiling I start prepping the veggies. Fresh veggies are key!

finished collage

Ingredients

1 T grapeseed oil (better for cooking at high heat)

1 white onion, chopped – I use the slap chop!

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 carrot, roughly grated – I use a lemon zester as the grater, to get little bits

6 C water

5 tbsp chicken broth paste

½ C orzo

½ lemon, zest and juice – I use ReaLemon for the juice as I find the flavor is better in the soup. Use the lemon just for the zest and for the finishing touch in the bowl.

½ tsp salt

¼ tsp pepper

1 tsp dried basil

Instructions

In a large pot, start heating up the water and chicken paste.

In another smaller pot heat olive oil.

Add in garlic and onion. Sauté until translucent.

Add in carrot. Sauté for just a few minutes.

Pour sauteed mixture into chicken broth.

Add orzo. Cook until tender with a slight bite.

Pour in lemon juice and add zest.

Season with salt, pepper and basil.

Let simmer and adjust seasonings if needed.

Garnish with lemon slices.

voilà!

Happy cooking

xx Andrea

Leave a Reply

