Healthy Pita Pizza

Deciding on what to make for dinner is a daily struggle. Especially with a busy schedule containing work, school, fitness, and of course being social. This is a great recipe for an easy tasty dinner for two, or if you live alone in a studio apartment like I do, it’s dinner and then lunch the next day!

 

one-3

two-3

As my friends know, I have a soft spot for Costco. Even though I shop for ONE, I still find it necessary to buy bulk food items. I mean who doesn’t need 100 pitas for $3.99? So now all my meals contain pitas. I need to start eating them because nothing else can fit in my freezer!!

three-3

four-3

Homemade pizza’s are my absolute favorite andΒ pitas make them soΒ easy. No dough to worry about kneading, and Pita’s are the perfect size. As a kid we would have family dinners to make your own pizza’s and that was by far my favorite dinner. Not only does it let you be creative, it also gets everyone in the kitchen together. I love cooking when people are around to hang out!

This is definitely the least amount of ingredients I have EVER put on a pizza, but it is the perfect combination and tastes just as good the next day! Because it doesn’t have any tomato sauce or re-fried beans as a base the pita gets really crispy and adds a good texture, such a treat. Happy Cooking!

five-3

Time:Β Preparation 12 min, baking 8-10 min

Ingredients

1 can of tuna drained (pole & line caught – sustainable πŸ™‚ )

1 handful of organic spinach (no stems)

2 spring onions cut with scissors

1/2 cup white cheddar cheese

1/2 can chickpeas

1 tbsp (dollop) light Caesar salad dressing

2 pitas

1 tbsp EVOO (Extra virgin Olive Oil)

3 twists of ground black pepper

Instructions

Preheat oven to 425F.

In a bowl, mix tuna, chickpeas, Caesar dressing, olive oil, Β½ of the green onion and all of the pepper.

Place the pitas on the baking sheet. Divide spinach among the pitas, then spread the tuna mixture over-top.

Sprinkle cheddar cheese on top of each pita and bake until cheese has melted – approx. 8 to 10 min.

Once out of the oven, garnish with remaining green onions and I like to add a bit of franks hot sauce!

voilΓ !

xx Andrea

Leave a Reply

